Types of Driver’s License Categories

Driver’s License categories:

various types of driving permits

As there are Vehcles of different types and sizes also there are different Driver’s License Categories. Anywhere you go, there are many kinds of automobiles on the roads. These automobiles range from basic motorbikes to various passenger-carrying sedans. Additionally, there are vehicles designed to carry loads whose sizes and permitted loads vary widely. Finally, you also have a variety of industrial machinery, such as tractors for farm labor and machines for building roads.

Additionally, there are various age restrictions in various nations in order to qualify for a license to operate these various categories of road vehicles. This brings up the many categories for driver’s licenses. We’ll examine typical categories for driving licenses in Europe, as well as those in the US and Canada, which are comparable worldwide. We’ll examine some of the disparities on an equal basis.

The following types of licenses are eligible under EU directives:

Category AM – Light quadricycles and 2- and 3-wheel vehicles having a maximum design speed of no more than 45 km/h.

Light bikes in Category A1 must have a cylinder capacity of no more than 125 cubic centimeters and a power rating of no more than 11 kW.

Motorcycles with a power rating under 35 kW fall under category A2.

Heavy bikes with no power limits are under category A.

Vehicles in category B must weigh no more than 3,500 kg and have a maximum capacity of eight occupants.

For a vehicle of category B carrying a hefty trailer weighing less than 3,500 kg, use category BE.

For quadricycles, use Category B1 (optional).

Category C1: up to eight passengers and freight trucks weighing 3,500 to 7,500 kg.

Category C1E – for towing a big trailer with a total mass of up to 12,000 kg with a vehicle of category C1 or B.

category C – for cargo trucks that carry no more than eight people and weigh more than 3,500 kg.

For a vehicle of category C carrying a hefty trailer, use category CE.

category D1: passenger cars no longer than 8 m in length and designed for less than 16 people.

For a vehicle of category D1 carrying a hefty trailer, use category D1E.

passenger cars with a capacity of more than eight fall under category D.

For a vehicle of category D carrying a hefty trailer, use category DE.
Categories B, C1, C, D1 and D are allowed to pull light trailers weighing up to 750 kg.

More information about driving license categories and requirements for different categories:

The code on the driving license indicates whether it was created for a modified car or for a certain category of automobiles. Also, only drivers who are previously qualified to operate category B cars are granted permits for categories C1, C, D1, and D. Additionally, only drivers who are currently authorized to operate category B, C1, C, D1 and D cars, respectively, are granted permits for categories BE, C1E, CE, D1E, and DE.

Additionally, classifications AM, A1 (light motorcycles), and B1 (motorized tricycles and quadricycles) need a minimum age of 16 years. Additionally, categories A2, B, BE, and C1 require applicants to be at least 18 years old. Additionally, categories C, CE, D1, and D1E need a minimum age of 21 years. Finally, groups D and DE must have a minimum age of 24.

Here, we have omitted the theory of the many industrial vehicle types as well as the nations whose categories are represented in classes. To learn more about your particular situation, you can speak with our representative.